Intel’s New Core-i9 Processors Have Been Detailed – Report

It’s no secret that Intel plans on rolling out additional 7th generation processors that feature more than four CPU cores after the launch of the initial Core-i7 SKUs. The previous generation included the Core-i7 6800K (six-core), 6900K (eight-core), and 6950X (ten-core), which were released six months after the 6700K (four-core). However, a few details have now allegedly surfaced regarding a new line of multi-core CPUs, which will fall under the Core-i9 moniker.

According to a photo that originated on the AnandTech forums, the following specifications outline the upcoming Intel Core-i9 CPUs:

CPU Name Cores/Threads Base Clock Boost Clock
Core-i9 7920X 12 / 24 N/A N/A
Core-i9 7900X 10 / 20 3.3GHz 4.3GHz Turbo 2.0
4.5GHz Turbo 3.0
Core-i9 7820X 8 / 16 3.6GHz 4.3GHz Turbo 2.0
4.5GHz Turbo 3.0
Core-i9 7800X 6 / 12 3.5GHz 4.0GHz

The 7920X and 7900X models are said to feature 44 PCI-e lanes and a TDP of 160 watts, while the 7820X and 7800X will have 28 PCI-e lanes with a 140 watt TDP. All Core-i9 processors will be based on the Skylake-X architecture, an evolution of the previous Broadwell-E.

Two additional Core-i7 CPUs based on the Kaby Lake architecture were also revealed. The 7740K is a beefier version of the 7700K that’ll still have four cores and eight threads, but a base clock of 4.3GHz and boost clock of 4.5GHz. The 7640K is essentially a souped-up Core-i5 7600K, which will have four cores and four threads with a 4.0GHz core clock and 4.3GHz boost clock.

Intel’s new processors are anticipated to have a full reveal in June at or around the time of Computex, the largest annual computer hardware convention. There hasn’t been any hint of the price of each model yet.

For performance metrics on Intel’s current 12-core CPU, check out our review of the Core-i7 6950X. And for more on their latest in the 7th generation Kaby Lake line, see our review on the Core-i7 7700K.


Leave a Comment